橄榄的种植现况

日常生活中

现在国内外对于第一产业的扶持及发展的需求日益增长,而其原因显然与现在人们对营养质量的重视有关。在当今社会和市场中,有机食品和无添加食品愈发受到人们的青睐。由此对于无添加食品的需求在现代农业中也引发了许多问题。

主要的生产者们

像西班牙、意大利和希腊这几个国家,主要作物(参考出口表上年度出口额的前几位)之一就是橄榄及其产物。橄榄种植之所以在希腊有如此重要的地位,是因为市场的特殊需求、传统的继承和其作为希腊橄榄油生产商谋生方式的重要性。因此,橄榄的种植不能仅仅从纯经济的角度评价,还应将其他一些非经济的人文因素考虑在内。

害虫和疾病

尽管现在用于灾害监测、警报的现代科技有很多,但从上个世纪到现在对于橄榄疾病的监管一直是一个难题。橄榄果蝇是现下所有橄榄生产国家中最为严峻、最为盛行的一种橄榄树害虫(其中包括地中海地区和美国),每年都会造成巨大的损失。根据记录,第一只果蝇在美国被发现,也很有可能是整个北美地区,并由那里传播开来。在希腊,每个橄榄园中都有害虫,它们从古时候就一直存在了。如果缺乏有效的管理措施,虫害可以轻易毁坏高达80%的产物。

橄榄果蝇

果蝇的物候和种群密度的地区差异非常明显,主要取决于每个地区的生态条件。过硬的成长周期经历了一下几个阶段:卵、幼虫、蛹和成虫。在大多数地区,果蝇每年可以生长3-4代。害虫的迁徙在泥土中完成。只要气候条件对于果蝇不是那么苛刻,甚至在冬天都可以在橄榄园中发现这些害虫。所以那些冬天气候温和的地区,或是那些橄榄适合孵化幼虫的地区,各个阶段的果蝇都可以找到。值得一提的是,那些果实大耳朵支的橄榄树橄榄树,或是那些小树和被灌溉过的通常是最早遭受虫害的。第一波虫害到来的时间会因橄榄树的品种不同和年份不同而有所差异。害虫每年可以生长4-5代。一只成虫为了寻找合适的产卵地点往往要飞行4-10公里。

解决最明显的问题

由此可见,解决橄榄果蝇的虫害问题十分复杂严峻。生产者们通常的方法是使用农药,但是
时间和地点上的选择错误都可能导致农药完全失效。为了解决虫害问题,农药是一种预防手段。不像治疗手段,为了更加有效,预防措施通常是大面积进行以防止再感染,因此通常由中央机构组织进行,如农业部门和地方农业指导。诱捕措施(土壤或空气中)成功的先决条件是第一次农药喷洒的时机和谨慎的操作,这对于后续的虫害控制是决定性的,因为这一次喷洒时间需要与第一代害虫出现的时间相一致。因此科学技术的应用就显得尤为重要,可靠的害虫成长周期检测系统对于害虫的防控至关重要。

现存的解决方案?

同样的原理也适用于交替进行的防控手段。事实上,像生物技术、生长监管机构、破坏共生细菌和害虫绝育等方法理论上也是可行的。另外,上面提到的那些方法的一个共同特征就是对于害虫生长周期的精准预测。

Current olive farming situation

In our days

Nowadays, the need for support and development of the primary sector receives increasing attention both at national and global level. The reason is obvious and relates to the importance that modern studies attribute to the quality of nutrition of modern man. The development of more and healthier foods by use of biological methods or the use of cultivation practices with less chemicals and fertilizers are a requirement in modern societies and markets. Still, the requirement for active reduction of chemicals and fertilizers creates problems in modern farming.

Key producers

For Spain, Italy and Greece, one of the key crops of the primary sector (annual exports in first few positions of the corresponding exports table) is the olive and its products. The position of olive cultivation in Greece is also the result of specific market needs & the continuation of a tradition and a way of living for Greek olive oil producers. Accordingly, olive related holdings should be not assessed only from a purely economic point of view as are associated with many other non-economic factors that make this production sector a way of living.

Pests & diseases

However, the management of olive diseases is still being currently addressed with terms and practices of the past century, despite the plethora of modern technologies for monitoring and early warning of possible attacks. In particular, the pest olive-fruit fly is the most serious entomological enemy of olive is nowadays prevalent in all the olive-oil producing countries (Mediterranean & USA), causing huge losses every year. The pest’s presence seems to be spreading & in October 1998, the first recorded appearance of the fly was made in the USA and probably throughout North America. In Greece the pest is found in all the olive groves and is known since antiquity. The damage it can cause in the absence of control measures, can very easily reach levels of up to 80% of production.

The olive-fruit fly

The phenology and population density of the pest varies greatly from one region to another, depending on the ecological conditions of each region. During its biological cycle the olive fruit fly passes through stages: egg, larva, pupa, and perfect pest. In most locations, it displays 3-4 generations per year. The transhumance of the pest takes place in the soil. It can even be found during the winter in the olive groves as a fully developed pest in cases the climatic conditions are not prohibitive for its survival. So in areas with mild winters and when the olives are suitable for feeding the larvae of the pest it may be possible to have it present in all its biological stages. It should be noted that the large fruited varieties of olives with juicy flesh and the small trees or irrigated trees for production are usually affected earlier. The timing of the first attack for each olive variety differs from region to region and between years. The growth & development of the pest can reach 4-5 generations during the year. The need to find food & fruit susceptible to egg deposition requires a fully developed pest to fly distances reaching 4-10km.

Addressing the elephant in the room

It is therefore clear that tackling the olive-fruit fly is a very complex problem. The common method producers use, chemical applications, with total or partial coverage may be completely ineffective if the application (spraying) is not in the correct and optimal in time and place. To tackle the pest the chemical control is applied preventively and therapeutically. Unlike the therapeutic approach, the preventive, in order to be effective, is applied over large areas to prevent re-infection so it is organized by central organizations such as the Ministry of Agriculture with local farming directors. A prerequisite for the success of bait method (ground or air) is timely and meticulous implementation of the first spray that is decisive for the further course of the pest control since it coincides with foundation generation of the pest. IT is therefore, once again obvious, that the urgent need for reliable monitoring & prediction of the biological cycle of the pest has a great impact to its control.

Existing solutions?

The same principles are found in cases of application of alternative control methods. Indeed, methods such as biotech, growth regulators, symbiotic bacteria destruction and pests’ technical sterilization do exist. Still, a common denominator for the effectiveness of the above methods is the exact prediction of the biological cycle of the pest.